Qualifications Explained

The Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF) compares a wide range of Scottish qualifications. It covers attainments, including those gained at school, college, university and the workplace, providing each qualification with a standard SCQF level and credit point rating.

The Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF)

All Scottish universities and colleges are now using SCQF levels and credit points to describe their courses. A wide range of other learning is also being recognised using SCQF levels and credits. Some employers are now using SCQF levels instead of, or as well as, types of qualification when advertising jobs.

The SCQF helps to illustrate the relationships between Scottish qualifications and those in the rest of the UK, Europe and beyond. This can clarify opportunities for international progression routes and credit transfer.

The SCQF can help:

  • you decide how to progress in your learning

  • you understand qualifications you are not familiar with

  • employers understand different types of qualifications to inform your skills development

  • colleges and universities identify the level to which a particular subject has been studied, making it easier to transfer credits between courses

  • provide recognition of other areas of your learning

For more information on The Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework, please visit www.scqf.org.uk .

National Qualifications (NC/NQ)

On successful completion of this vocational qualification you should be qualified to gain employment or use the qualification to continue studying at a more advanced level. These are non-advanced qualifications.

Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQ)

Typically an SVQ is achieved in the workplace. Some SVQs or SVQ units are incorporated into other awards or courses including HNCs and Modern Apprenticeships. Modern Apprenticeships combine work- based competences and foundational knowledge.

Higher National Certificates (HNC)

HNCs are normally offered through the equivalent of one year’s full-time higher education. They can give entry to HNDs and degree courses at level 8.

Higher National Diplomas (HND)

HNDs are normally offered through the equivalent of two year’s full-time higher education. They can give entry to degree courses at level 9.

All our qualifications support students to move towards employment, further education or training and offer vital skills development for learning, for life and for work. Further information can be found at the following:

Scottish Credit Qualification Frameworkwww.scqf.org.uk
Scottish Qualifications Authoritywww.sqa.org.uk



Course Search

Please use our search tool to find any course we offer:

Europe & Scotland
Investors in People
Living Wage
Colleges Scotland
Disability Confident
OCSR Scottish Charity Regulator